PERMIT PROCESS

The Genesee County Drain Commissioner Division of Water & Waste Services  Permits and Construction Department (GCDC-WWS P&C)

Permits Issued:​

  • Soil Erosion and Sedimentation Control (SESC) Permits and/or Waivers (Residential and Commercial).

  • B-Permits (for new utility connections where applicable).

  • S-Permits (for extension of public water and sanitary sewer).

  • Sewer and Water connection Permits (where applicable, some communities issue their own permits).

  • Please note IPP Permits are issued directly by the GCDC-WWS IPP Department not GCDC-WWS P&C Department.

  • Please note all well and septic permits are issued by the Genesee County Health Department.

  • Please note that all drive-way permits are issued by the Genesee County Road Commission.
     

Reviews Conducted For:

  • Site Plan Preliminary Plat Approval (per current standards and specifications).

  • Construction Plan Approval (for extension of public water and sanitary sewer per current standards and specifications).

  • SESC Plan and Permit Approval (Per State of Michigan Part 91).

  • Grinder Station Approvals (per current standards and specifications).

  • Meter Pit Approvals (per current standards and specifications).

  • Residential Equivalent Unit (REU) calculation and determination of County Capital Improvement Fees (CCIF) per current Table of Unit Factors and Fee Schedule.

  • REU Audits (as requested by the local unit of Government).

  • All reviews related to Storm/Surface Water are done by the Genesee County Drain Commissioner’s Office Surface Water Management Division (810) 732-1590.
     

Other Functions:
 

  • Provide construction inspection for the extension of public water and sanitary sewer.

  • Provide testing of sanitary sewer and water main before they are put into service.

  • Provide sanitary and water private lead inspections where applicable.

  • Provide special inspections for installation of meter pits, grinder stations or other activities where applicable.

  • Provide SESC inspections to confirm compliance where applicable.

  • Provide as-built utility (water and sanitary) location information.

  • Provide GCDC-WWS Customer Service to the community. 
     

The Genesee County Drain Commissioner Division of Water & Waste Services Permits and Construction (P&C) Department personnel can be reached at (810) 732-7870 or:

 

Lynnette Meinz – Engineer III lmeinz@gcdcwws.com

Site Plan and Construction Plan Reviews, REU Audits

Dion Burroughs – Customer Service Coordinator dburroughs@gcdcwws.com
CS Coordinator, Residential SESC Permits and Sewer & Water Permits

 

Theresa Ingle – Geographic Information Systems Coordinator tmingle@gcdcwws.com
GIS, B-Permits and Sewer & Water Permits

 

Cliff Webster – SESC Technician cwebster@gcdcwws.com
GIS, Commercial and Residential SESC Permits

 

Mark Stephens – Engineering Technician II mstephens@gcdcwws.com
GIS, Commercial SESC Permits, Utility Locations and As-Built Plans

 

Les Rogers – Construction Operations Supervisor lrogers@gcdcwws.com
SESC Enforcement Officer, Point of contact for utility construction projects, construction, lead and special Inspections, utility testing, pre-construction meeting coordinator, shop drawing review and approval.

 

Paul Donnelly – Construction Observer pdonnelly@gcdcwws.com
SESC (Southern half of Genesee County), public sewer and water installation observation, sewer and water lead inspection and special Inspections

 

Ryan Lynn – Construction Observer rlynn@gcdcwws.com
SESC, Public sewer and water installation observation, sewer and water lead inspection and special inspections 

 

© 2019 GCDC-WWS